Security Levels

About security levels

Security levels specify and limit the access users have when logged in to the Datto RMM web interface, the Agent Browser, or a Web Remote session or chat. Users can have more than one security level and change them as needed. Security levels can be added, edited, copied, and deleted. Users can switch security levels in the web interface and the Agent Browser.

IMPORTANT  You must have the administrator security level to be able to add, edit, copy, or delete a security level. For more information, refer to Users.

Administrator security level

By default, the administrator security level is assigned to the user who registers a Datto RMM account, and it is the only security level available to assign to new users until other security levels are created. The administrator security level cannot be modified or edited in any way. Users who have this security level assigned have full and unlimited access to all Datto RMM functionality and can see and connect to all devices in the Datto RMM account.

Creating a security level

On the Security Levels page, click Create Security Level and specify the security level details.

Viewing and managing security levels

Best Practices (security level templates)

Navigate to the Security Levels page by following the navigation path described in Security and navigation. Click Best Practices and then click Create next to one of the security level templates.

These templates serve as guides with recommended settings for common use cases; however, you can change any of the settings before saving the security level. Refer to Creating a security level.